Kent County 4-H 2016 Achievement and Recognition

March 6, 2017

The Kent County 4-H gave out their 2016 Achievement and Recognition awards at their annual banquet on March 5, 2017 at the Millington Fire hall.

4-H Educator, Beth Hill, opened by saying, “We will recognize 4-H’ers, leaders, volunteers and community members who contributed to the success of Kent County 4-H this past year.”

After a brief remarks from Kent County All-Stars, Bill Thompson, he introduced the 4-H’ers who have aged out of the program and are now eligible to become 4-H All Stars, adults who were 4-H’er.

Mrs. Hill then turned the program over to the 4-H’ers. Gracie Troyer gave the innovation and Banquet Director Alex Wagenman gave direction to the buffet table which was full of wonderful food and desserts.

After the meal it was time for the program lead by the 4-H MC’s Brett Baldwin, Aubrey Clarke, Lydia Davis, Mitch Debnam, Dylan Hill, Alexis Langefelder, Ethan Miller, Megan Moore, Henry Myers, Dutch Nickerson and Michael Nickerson.

Trice Moore led the Pledge of Allegiance and the 4-H Pledge.

After a number of participation awards were presented to the 4-H’ers individual awards were given. The first, the 4-H Character Award, going to Jennifer and Laurie Quinn.

Spirit Award, to a member each of the 4 age divisions and a volunteer; Wesley Mullen, Clover, Gracie Troyer, Junior, Anna Philips, Intermediate, Jillian Lovett, Senior and Kathy Myers, Volunteer.

The Challenge to Serve Award, started by the Sutton Family in Memory of former Kent Agriculture Agent Stanley Sutton, was presented to Sarah Parker by Bill Sutton.

The Make the Best Better Award went to Austin “Dutch” Nickerson.

A member of each of the Age Divisions were given a Most Active Award. Winners were Casey Turner, Rachel Jones and Dylan Hill.

William C Dandorth, founder of Ralston Purina Company, started the I Dare You Leadership Award in 1941. This year’s recipients, given to a male and a female member, were Cassie Plummer and Ethan Miller.

The Meritorious Service Award for an origination who has made a immeasurable contribution to the program was given to the County Commissioners for their support to increase the safety at the fair and enable greater use of the fairgrounds. The award was accepted for the commissioners by county electrician Ron Roake who did a lot of electrical work at the fairgrounds.

The final award of the ceremony is the 4-H Family of the Year. The Simmons Family, Andy Donna, Nathan and Danielle was the winners. In a fittingly fashion they were unable to attend the banquet due to work that was need on the family Christmas Tree farm.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Humanity, Information, Millington, News, Youth. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply